- What is Group Discoverability?
- What is Group Membership Access?
- How to Customize a Group?
- What are Group Plugin Access Levels?
- How are groups managed?
- How do I leave a group?
- How do I delete a group?
What is Group Discoverability?
All groups have an overall discoverability setting of either visible or hidden. This determines whether or not the group appears in searches or by browsing groups. Visible means the group can be found by anyone, hidden means the reverse.
The group mangers have the ability to update the group discoverability which can be found by editing the group.
Group managers can also set access restrictions on each group plugin (members, messages, wiki, etc) to limit access to that specific plugin's content. Information about group access levels can be found below.
What is Group Membership Access?
Group membership allows for groups to restrict access for new members. There are four settings for group membership: Anyone or Open, Restricted, Invite Only, and Closed.
- Anyone or Open means that if a registered hub member comes to you group they will be able to click a button to join the group without a group manager having to approve.
- Restricted means that the user will have to enter a reason for wanting to join the group and a group manager must approve their request before they will be granted access to the group.
- Invite Only means that the user will not be able to join the group unless they have been sent a group invite from one of the group managers.
- Closed simply means that membership cannot be modified.
The group managers have the ability to update the group membership access, which can be found by editing the group.
How to Customize a Group?
Groups allow for customization including adding a group logo, customizing the group home or main page (instead of using default group description and random selection of group members), setting group plugin access levels (discussed below), and the ability to add extra custom group pages.
All group managers can customize any of these items through the group customization interface.
What are Group Plugin Access Levels?
Group Plugin Access Levels allow for groups to set access levels for each plugin (members, messages, wiki, etc) individually. The different access levels are: Any HUB Visitor, Registered HUB Members, Group Members, and Disabled or Off.
- Any HUB Visitor means that if a guest (not logged in user) comes to the group plugin they will be granted access to view the plugin but not allowed to perform any actions (add, edit, delete, etc) within the plugin.
- Registered HUB Members means that if a HUB member (not a member of the group) comes to the group plugin they will be granted access to view the plugin but not allowed to perform any actions (add, edit, delete, etc) within the plugin. Guest users will not be granted access to view the plugin.
- Group Members means that is a group member comes to the group plugin they will granted access to view the plugin and perform any actions that group members are allowed to perform. Guest users and Registered HUB users will not be granted access to the plugin.
- Disabled or Off means that no one will be granted access to the plugin.
All group managers have the ability to update the group plugin access levels, which can be found through the group customization interface.
How are groups managed?
When you create a group, you are automatically made its first manager. As manager, you can also promote members to help you run the group.
A group manager can:
- Create group participation rules
- Promote/demote members and approve/deny membership requests.
- Modify information about the group
- Create or change the group name
- Create or change the group description
- Associate the group with an external URL
- Determine whether or not your group wiki pages, resources, and discussion topics can be viewed by non-members.
- Moderate group discussions
There's no upper limit on the number of managers a group can have, but a group must have at least one manager at all times.
You can read about keeping your group happy on the Tips for Running Your Group page.
How do I leave a group?
To Leave a group navigate to your Member profile then to the Groups tab. There you will see a listing of all the groups you are associated with. Along the right side of the listing there is a Remove icon. Clicking this link will remove you from the group. You can also navigate directly to the group and click the cancel group membership button.
Note: You will not be able to leave a group if you are the only group manager. You must promote someone else in the group first before removing yourself.
How do I delete a group?
To Delete a group navigate to your Member profile then to the Groups tab. There you will see a listing of all the groups you are associated with. Along the right side of the listing you will see a Trash icon. Clicking this will take you to another screen to confirm deletion of the group.
Note: You will not be able to delete a group if there are other members still in the group.
Return to the main groups page.